EVENTS

Bringing you the best student events in Christchurch

Diversity Fest 2019

 

Running in Term 4 from 9 September – 13 October, Diversity Fest will include a global fashion show, an international food market, film screening and Q&A session and a range of speakers. There'll be heaps of other events, as well as a range of activities hosted by student clubs and societies.

This is a chance for everyone across campus to come together and celebrate the rich diversity of our university community, while discussing how we can further make this a place where we feel we all belong.

Privilege Walk

Come along for a moment of self-reflection and a conversation about privilege

Monday 9 September to Friday 11 October 2019

Mindfulness Morning Tea: Brought to you by UC Admin Plus

Staff are welcome to a morning tea and a presentation from Venkataraman Nilakant, a specialist in organisational change and resilience. 

Monday 23 September 2019, 10.00am–11.00am

Mad Poets' Pop-Up

Sit back, relax and enjoy listening to poetry while having your lunch 

Tuesday 24 September 2019, 12.00pm–1pm

Whanaunga from Another Maunga

Take a break, enjoy some free food and meet new people

Wednesday 25 September 2019, 11.30–1.30pm

Inflatable Sumo Wrestling and other games

Try your hand at inflatable sumo wrestling, sitting volleyball and cornhole

Thursday 26 September 2019, 2.00–4.00pm

and 27 September 12.00pm-2.00pm

Dawn Raids Exhibition

A powerful and insightful exhibit about a key moment in NZ history

Monday 30 September–Friday 18 October 2019

Out Loud Aotearoa

Rainbow Youth share their stories and wishes for Aotearoa's mental health and addiction services

Monday 30 September to Friday 4 October 2019

Community Connections

An international potluck dinner

Thursday 3 October 2019, 6.00pm–8.30pm

BBQ Shared Lunch

Hosted by TEU and Q-Canterbury

Tuesday 8 October 2019, 12.00pm–2.00pm

Accessibility Challenge

An obstacle course challenge to raise awareness of disability access

Wednesday 9 October 2019, 11.00am–2.00pm

 

Community Connections

An interactive student workshop

Thursday 10 October 2019

Rainbow Short Films Night and Conversations

A series of short films with a rainbow/LGBTIQA+ focus. Also includes supper and conversation

30 October 2019, 6.00pm–9.00pm