STUDENT EXEC

Tori-mcnoe2020.png

President

Tori McNoe
president@ucsa.org.nz
(03) 369 0544

Katie-Mills-headshot2020.png

Vice President

Jack-W-headshot2020.png

Finance & Engagement Officer

Jack Whittam

finance@ucsa.org.nz

Georgie

Equity & Wellbeing

George-Stilwell2020.png

Postgraduate

George Stilwell

postgraduate@ucsa.org.nz

Derrick

International

Tamahou

Te Akatoki

Tamahou Thoms

teakatoki@ucsa.org.nz

Nuha

Commerce

Nuha Fathina

commerce@ucsa.org.nz

Kim

Science

Tayla

Law

Tayla Macbeth

law@ucsa.org.nz

Emily

Education

Emily Mullaly

education@ucsa.org.nz

ben-oconnell2020.png

Arts

Ben O'Connell

arts@ucsa.org.nz

Cleo

Engineering

About the Exec

Governance

The Executive (13 students) make up the governing body of the UCSA. They're the equivalent of a Board of Directors. The Exec's core jobs are to monitor performance, to give direction and to ensure there's accountability for management.

Exec Committee/governance meetings take place every fortnight during term-time. They're chaired by the UCSA President.

Representation

To make sure students are heard, the Exec sit on a range of college and UC committee bodies. For example, the UCSA Engineering Rep sits in on Engineering College meetings.

All major college matters then go to the Academic Board. The Academic Board then reports to the University Council (UC's governing body), which the President is a member of.

Special projects

Members of the Exec have their own projects that they're passionate about. We have a small fund available to help them with an idea or a project on campus that'll benefit students. The Exec member is given resources and support from UCSA staff to implement it.

Executive meetings

According to our constitution, any student can attend an exec meeting, and these are usually held on the first, third and fifth week of term time from 5pm-7pm.

Send us an email before coming along - we'll need to confirm the meeting time and venue.

Exec meeting minutes

Read them here.

UCSA elections

Each year, UC students get a chance to vote for who sits on UCSA's governing body.*

The election campaigns are a pretty big deal, with candidates promoting their policies and advertising online and around campus (anyone who's been through the campaign cycle will remember the sea of signage).

Everyone's encouraged to get out and vote - you get your say on student life, and democracy wins!

 

*The President also sits on University Council – the governing body of UC.

Role descriptions

The President’s role is a full-time position. Vice-President and Finance are part-time (approx. 20 hours), and other Exec positions are part-time (approx. 10 hours during the academic year).